Just chattering away

I doubt if you would have to re-learn anything. Like riding a bicycle. But I know exactly what you are talking about. I had a lot of muscle cars in the late sixties and early 70’s.  The standard 69 Chevelle SS with factory 429 and 4 speed. And sort of a rare bird, a Mercury “Caliente” which was the Ford equivalent of the 70 & 1/2 Fairlane. The Fairlane had become a full size car by then but the Caliente came out with a factory 429 and 4 speed. I put in lower gears, didn’t really need the 140 MPH top end. 🙂 Never lost a drag race in class. But I did lose one time to a Camaro with a built up 327 driving the Chevelle. I was sure the Chevelle would leave it at the starting line but I forgot about “curb weight”. It was 1000 pounds lighter and he beat me by a hoods’ length. I was so mad. (Continued in Blogspot) wordnam.wordpress.com

I had a 63 Ford Fairlane 4 door, I was so embarrassed. My youngest uncle had a blue 64 Fairlane, that was the “collectible”. A 2 door. 289 in it. Mine had the same block only smaller pistons so it was a 221. There was a 260 too, all three V-8’s.This was before I started working at the pallet factory making monster money for the time. One half owner was my Uncle, who had lost an arm in the factory at Clopay. got $1M settlement and a lifetime contract to supply the pallets they went through daily. The other half owner was a local guy too, not too much older than us 16 year old guys. HE built a garage, actually a speed shop with chain hoist for pulling engines, parts hanging around the walls. He was a Ford nut too. He had a new Ford Ranchero, a luxury pickup for the times. 351 cubic inch motor. Donnie Bickley, now a giant of a man towered, over me and I’m 6’5. He could drop in the three inside runners in half a second on the hand made work bench and grab 5 1/2 ” boards for that side with the other and put them in the exact spot. I could make that nail gun fly across all five boards and he would would flip the pallet with one hand and grab six more boards for the other side in one fluid motion. I would nail that six then we would repeat. He would turn and stack that pallet until we had an eight foot stack then get the forklift after we had filled the bay full up. Load that big bed eighteen wheeler and strap all of them down. Yeah, the load was top heavy but Tiny never rolled a load. Oddly, the property I bought when moving back to KY to die from the cancer our road is across the street from the much, much larger pallet factory. Not at all like it used to be but they sell me 1000 board feet of rough cut Oak for $100 for stalls and barn additions. You can nail them tightly together but within a year there is a good 1/2 space between the boards as they air dry and cure out. You can’t drive a nail in them then without first drilling a small hole.

So when I starting having enough $$ to buy the muscle cars he let me use the shop to build up my motors as high as possible. Who knew that a fiberglass fan would add some HP as the blades “flattened” at high RPM’s and had less resistance on the cam and crank shafts?

Being 16-20 in the late sixties and early seventies was a great time in America. Our parents laughed all the time, times were good. many of my classmates and I were “Rebels without a clue”. We did have Civil Rights as an issue. My best friend was a guy named Charlie Brown, and he was. Brown. I never even thought about it but Charlie would let me take him home from work in the summertime when all of kids automatically had summer jobs at Browning’s, ( Now Emerson Electric ) where our father’s worked. My parents got nasty phone calls and boy, did the caller get an earful. My graduating class had 18, only 12 went on the Senior trip to Washington D.C. on a bus. I think Taxman mentioned his H.S. French was “rusty”, our French teacher was the PE instructor, he was one Chapter ahead of us in the textbook.

What I remember as “carefree days” are long gone and it is now a different America. I won’t go into that but, let’s all make sure we vote on Election Day.

Cars sorta faded into the background after 72. Being married will do that. 40 years of wedded bliss and 31 of that in the IT industry in Sales. I was in technology long before the first IBM AT or XT. 64 K of mem or, a board with 64K and room to add another, equal amount. Wow. 128K or memory! My first computer was a Burroughs 6500 and the memory was iron (ferrite) core mem. We had 8 meg in a 15′ by 15′ room, thought we would never run out. And yeah, if you opened the door and a mosquito flew in you knew there would be a problem. That’s when we would have to “de-bug” the computer,,,,:lol: But I can’t complain, the gravy years were between 1997 and 2007 when I made $2.359,060.

This ran on as on as I just kept thinking of the good old days. That why I moved it to a blog post. When my posts run on and on Howste is always concerned and calls me on it. No Sir, just typing away as the wife sleeps off yesterdays’ eye surgery. It went remarkably well, FYI.

Leave a Reply

